The 2015-16 school start has been a busy one.  The TEA office coordinated a series of successful back to school new hire induction events, enrolling nearly 200 new members.  The fall semester has been filled with site visits, curriculum discussions, and district wide advocacy. In addition, the leadership team continues working with members and administration in ensuring that we provide the best education for TUSD students.

The items that follow are a few of the successes we have had during this last year.  Our continued commitment to our professional lives and your ongoing support has made all of these accomplishments possible.  For the 2015-16 school year, TEA:

-Negotiated a step increase for certified staff.  This step increase was in addition to the step movement negotiated for the 2014-15 school year. Each step is worth $500.00.

-Negotiated an additional $200.00 increase in salary due to negotiations of 301 money for certified staff.

-Negotiated a step increase for classified staff for the 2014-2015 school year as well as the 2015-2016 school year.  In addition, converted longevity stipends into guaranteed salary steps.  Classified staff saw anywhere from a 2.5% to a 5% pay raise within a short time span.

-Negotiated that student survey information be only 10% of your total evaluation score and that surveys only serve to improve total evaluation score. 

-Maintained and prevailed in our belief that using site administrators as evaluators is the most effective way of assessing our professional work, despite efforts of the Special Master to impose outside evaluators on our community of teachers and learners.

-Negotiated the reintroduction of the Professional Development Fund, allowing Classified and Certified staff to access up to $500 per year for attending professional development courses or for fees associated with a professional development offering.

Your membership in TEA is appreciated and critical to our ongoing efforts on behalf of our students and ourselves. Have a wonderful school year.

Jason Freed
TEA President, 2015-2017 Term